Accused of Bilkis Bano gang rape case surrendered


11 accused in the Bilkis Bano gang rape case surrendered before the Godhra jail administration late on Sunday (January 21). The Supreme Court had on January 8 quashed the Gujarat government's decision to grant early release to Bilquis Bano gang-rape convicts during the 2002 Gujarat riots.

The court asked all the accused to surrender within two weeks i.e. by January 21. All the 11 accused who surrendered reached Godhra sub-jail from Singwar in Dahod district in two vehicles.

The accused include Radheshyam Shah, Jaswant Nai, Govind Nai, Kesar Wohnia, Baka Wohnia, Raju Soni, Ramesh Chandana, Shailesh Bhatt, Bipin Joshi, Pradeep Modhia and Mitesh Bhatt. According to the police, all the accused have been identified. After surrendering, they have been sent to jail.