6 states were born in India on November 1, including Punjab.

Punjab Divas: November 1, means many historical changes took place in India today. Many years ago on this day, a decision was taken to reorganize the various states of the country on the basis of language. Today, from the year 1956 to the year 2000, six different states of India were born. It includes Punjab, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka and Kerala.

Interestingly, these six states celebrate their foundation day on the same day. Apart from these six states, Delhi, the capital of the country, was also recognized as a Union Territory on November 1, 1956. Let’s know the story behind the formation of these states on their foundation day.

Punjab and Haryana: Historically a gateway to the Indian subcontinent for Greeks, Central Asians, Afghans and Iranians, Punjab was organized as a large state after independence. When decisions were being taken to reorganize the states, then Haryana and part of Himachal Pradesh and the Union Territory of Chandigarh, Punjab were part of it.

But due to the demand for states on linguistic (Punjabi, Hindi, Pahari) basis since 1950, a new state emerged as the state of ‘Haryana’ on November 1, 1966 as per the ‘Punjab Reorganization Bill, 1966’. Now Punjabi speaking Sikhs became part of Punjab, Hindi speaking Hindus Haryana. The part where Pahari was spoken was merged into Himachal Pradesh. At the time of reorganization, both Haryana and Punjab asserted their rights over Chandigarh. So Chandigarh was declared a Union Territory which is known as the capital of both the states.

Story from Central India to Madhya Pradesh: Madhya Pradesh is celebrating its 66th Foundation Day today on 01 November 2021. This state was established on 1 November 1956. The establishment of Madhya Pradesh, India’s second largest state, was the most challenging for the Indian government at that time.

The main reason is four states– The Central Provinces, old Madhya Pradesh, Vindh Pradesh and Bhopal were to be merged to form a state, but in fact the people living in these big states have different ideas, food and drink habits, and living habits. Despite all these difficulties, today’s Madhya Pradesh was formed. Before reorganization it was also known as Madhya Bharat. On 1 November 1956, as the first Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Pandit Ravi Shankar Shukla gave his first speech at the Red Parade Ground.

Chhattisgarh: Kaushal province was established as Chhattisgarh on 1 November 2000. “Chhattisgarh” is not an ancient name, the practice of this name started during the Maratha period during the 18th century. Chhattisgarh is celebrating its 21st Foundation Day today on 01 November 2021. In the year 1956, this state was merged into the present Madhya Pradesh.

But unlike other states, Madhya Pradesh was not formed on the basis of language. At that time it had 36 garhs (forts) and all the people here spoke Chhattisgarhi and Gond languages. Due to which the demand for making Chhattisgarh a separate state was rising even before independence. But then it was ignored. Later, when Chhattisgarh was formed on 1 November 2000, Amit Jogi was made its first Chief Minister.

Kerala: With its ancient history, long-standing foreign trade relations, science, art and tradition, the region still holds an important place in the country in terms of literacy. Known for religious harmony, Kerala has been a melting pot of different cultures. At the time of India’s independence, Kerala had two provincial states – Travancore State and Kochi State. In 1949, these were merged to form a state called Tiru-Kochi.

After independence, Under the States Reorganization Act, 1956, the present state of Kerala was carved out of Madras State’s Malabar District, Tiru-Kochi State and Kasaragod Taluka and South Kanara. With its folk culture, traditional life and rich culture and heritage, the people living here celebrate Keralapiravi (Kerala’s birthday) on 1st November. In some regions it is also known as Malayalam Day.

Karnataka: If we look at the ancient and medieval history, the Karnataka region has been the domain of many powerful empires. The gold discovered at Harappa was taken from mines in Karnataka, leading historians to date Karnataka to 3000 BC. The connections between the Indus Valley Civilization of This land has an extensive history that has changed many directions over time. The present-day state of Karnataka was divided into more than 20 different states at the time of independence, including Madras, the Bombay Presidency and the Nizamo’s Hyderabad State.

But after independence, when Andhra Pradesh was formed in 1953, several districts of Madras were merged with Mysore. This ignited the fire of violence among the people and it took the form of rebellion. Finally, the government established Mysore State on 1 November 1956 on linguistic basis. And in it all the Kannada speaking areas were merged into one state. In the year 1973, its name was changed from Mysore State to Karnataka. At that time the Chief Minister of the state was Devraj Urs.